Memorandum



DATE August 24, 2017

TO Honorable Members of the City Council

SUBJECT Members of Mayor's Task Force on Confederate Monuments

I am pleased to present the members of the Mayor's Task Force on Confederate Monuments. It is critical that this task force be an independent, qualified and diverse panel. I appreciate you all for sending your recommendations to achieve this goal.

Chair:

Frances Waters, J.D., is the Chief Strategist of FCW Strategic Consulting with a particular focus on arts/culture, education and organizational strategic planning, and capacity-building. She has also served as a United Methodist pastor and church strategist. She is a graduate of Stanford University and Harvard Law School and is an involved, committed member of the Dallas community.

Task Force Members:

Buddy Apple, Attorney and Preservationist

Sara Mokuria, Associate Director for Leadership Initiatives, University of Texas at Dallas Coy Murchison, Health Care Administration Professional

Jesse Hornbuckle, Photographer and Business owner

Terrance Perkins, Executive Director, Passage of Youth, Inc. and Pastor

Dr. Ervin Seamster, Jr., President, Southwestern Christian College and Pastor

Marilyn Mayse, Attorney

Dr. Frederick D. Haynes, Senior Pastor, Friendship-West Baptist Church

Norma Minnis, Mortgage Broker

Coy Poitier, Dallas County Historical Commission

Dr. Glynn Newman, Professor, Eastfield College

Jo Trizila, President & CEO, TrizCom Public Relations

Maggie Murchison, Executive Committee, The University of Texas Chancellor's Council Barvo Walker, Sculptor

Rene Martinez, Education Consultant

Joli Robinson, Dallas Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation

Larry Schoenbrun, Attorney, Gardere Wyne Sewell LLP

Bryce Weigand, Architect, Weigand Art & Architecture

Arman Rupani, Managing Partner, Rupani & Matthew Group LLC

Communications Advisor:

Ken Luce, Founding Partner, LDWWgroup

DATE August 24, 2017

SUBJECT Members of Mayor's Task Force on Confederate Monuments

Director of Cultural Affairs Jennifer Scripps will serve as the lead city staff liaison for the task force. The task force may also consult with relevant staff in Historic Preservation, Parks and Recreation and the City Attorney's Office.

The first task force meeting will be held on Thursday, August 31, at 6 p.m. in the Dallas City Council Chambers. All meetings will be publicly posted in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act and recorded/broadcasted.

If you have any questions, please contact Patricia Blasquez at patricia.blasquez@dallascityhall.com.

Best Regards,

Michael & Rawlings

Mayor

c: Larry Casto, City Attorney
 Craig D. Kinton, City Auditor
 Rosa A. Rios, City Secretary
 Daniel F. Solis, Administrative Judge
 Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, Chief of Staff to the City Manager
 Majed A. Al-Ghafry, Assistant City Manager
 Jo M. (Jody) Puckett, Assistant City Manager (Interim)

Jon Fortune, Assistant City Manager
Joey Zapata, Assistant City Manager
M. Elizabeth Reich, Chief Financial Officer
Nadia Chandler Hardy, Chief of Community Services
Raquel Favela, Chief of Economic Development & Neighborhood Services
Theresa O'Donnell, Chief of Resilience
Directors and Assistant Directors